About Us

CMHA Awards

Nancy Hall Public Policy Leadership Award

The Dr. Nancy Hall Public Policy Leadership Award is awarded annually to honour the spirit of the late Dr. Nancy Hall, who acted as a key advisor, consultant, and friend to CMHA BC for more than 15 years and passed away in 2011 after a battle with cancer. This award recognizes an individual or group in BC that has influenced mental health policy and contributed to positive mental health. A $500 gift is designated for the recipient’s charity of choice.

  • 2015 winners:
    Leadership Award—Dr. Ron Remick
    Award of Merit—Project Link

  • 2014 winner:
    Moms Like Us

  • 2013 winners:
    Award of Distinction—BC Aboriginal Network on Disabilty Society
    Award of Merit—From Grief to Action

  • 2012 winners:
    Award of Distinction—Paola Ardiles, Project Manager in Education and Population Health with BC Mental Health and Addictions Services
    Awards of Merit—Stephen Smith, the first-ever Director, Mental Health Promotion & Mental Illness Prevention at the Ministry of Health; and The British Columbia Medical Association

  • 2011 winner:
    Michael Schratter

Read more about Nancy's life and work, as well as how you can make a difference by contributing to the Dr. Nancy Hall Speaking Up Speaking Out Fund.


CMHA BC Division Provincial Awards

Each year, CMHA BC Division recognizes the outstanding achievements of its volunteers and staff, as well as individuals and organizations who best exemplify the spirit of CMHA Without their dedicated efforts, the Canadian Mental Health Association would be missing the leadership and direction essential to a community-based organization.


Mental Health Voices

The Mental Health Voices Award is given to an individual who has shown courage, raised awareness, or encouraged acceptance and help for people with mental illness. It is awarded at the annual Mental Health Voices event that celebrates recovery, raises awareness, and supports various community programs of CMHA branches around BC.


CMHA National Awards

CMHA National Awards are a wonderful opportunity to recognize the outstanding achievements of those who exemplify CMHA’s vision and mission in your community. There are several different award categories to choose from including outstanding volunteer service, media, workplace mental health, innovation and distinguished service.